Assembling the Team

Today we assembled the team.

Yesterday, Austin, Brian, & I flew into Boston and cruised on up to Ogunquit,Maine, the starting DSCN0330point of The Great Race. Today we got Jake, Tony, and Eliza (the 57 Fairlane). She was dropped off about a mile from our hotel by Passport Transport. We have to give a great thank you to Passport Transport for getting her here promptly and safely. After getting Eliza, we took her on the road and to the wash. Funny enough we saw two other oldies next to us. A 1950s GMC and a 47/48 Cadillac, all that was going through my head was the song “Car Wash”. Since she was all shined up we took her by the sea and had our team reunion photo.

DSCN0375We are looking forward to tomorrow for our measured mile speedo calibration, & tech inspection

Here is our list of the crew for this year.

Tony diValentin

Senior – As returning driver for McPherson College, I look forward to driving down the eastern coast to my home state of Florida while simultaneously defending our X-Cup title. I’m currently working at a private collection in Jupiter, FL that consists mainly of vintage race cars that are driven on a regular basis, but welcome the break in order to participate in what has quickly become the highlight of my summer!

Jake O’Gorman

Junior – I originally hail from Southern Ontario, Canada and plan to represent the college and my country while touring down the East Coast in our classey 57′ Fairlane! I am currently interning with RM Auctions working on researching historic cars, marketing them and running auctions during the school year. I’ll keep my eyes on the speedo and a (tame) foot on the gas; I can’t wait to get started!

Austin Hiebert

Sophomore – Proudly representing the state of Kansas, the home state of myself as well as the college, I will be sharing the spot of navigator on this year’s race. I hail from a Kansas farm and am honored to be able to take a break from the daily work load and be a part of representing the college, our program, and seeing the East coast for the first time!

Justin Smeltzer

Sophmore– I am from the far other side of the country,Southern California. I just finished my first year at McPherson College and am excited to be involved in the Great Race. I am being a navigator for this outing and am hoping to not get us too lost. Honestly I am just excited to go on a 2100 mile road trip in the 57. How many people can say they’ve done that? If you like the stuff you’ll see on this blog you can follow me on mine at cainks.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

